24
May
10

Monday Music Muse & Crush of the Week: The Boss-Miss Diana Ross

To me?  There is no other Diva.

And when she graced the stage at Radio City Music Hall on Wednesday evening, I witnessed a professional demonstrating her artistry with the highest level of elegance, poise and class.  No wonder why they call her the Boss.  If you weren’t there, here she is at the age of 67 glaming it up like only she can do.  She did all of her hits, had about five costume changes and ended the show with a dedication to Michael.  It was magnificent.

Touch me in the morning
Then just walk away
We don’t have tomorrow
But we had yesterday

(Hey!)
Wasn’t it me who said that
Nothin’ good’s gonna last forever?
And wasn’t it me who said
Let’s just be glad for the time together?
It must’ve been hard to tell me
That you’ve given all you had to give
I can understand your feeling that way
Everybody’s got their life to live

Well, I can say goodbye in the cold morning light
But I can’t watch love die in the warmth of the night
If I’ve got to be strong
Don’t you know I need to have tonight when you’re gone?
‘Til you go I need to lie here and think about
The last time that you’ll touch me in the morning,
Then just close the door
Leave me as you found me,
Empty like before

(Hey!)
Wasn’t it yesterday
We used to laugh at the wind behind us?
Didn’t we run away and hope
That time wouldn’t try to find us
(Didn’t we run!)
Didn’t we take each other
To a place where no one’s ever been?
Yeah, I really need you near me tonight
‘Cause you’ll never take me there again
Let me watch you go
With the sun in my eyes
We’ve seen how love can grow
Now we’ll see how it dies

If I’ve got to be strong
Don’t you know I need to have tonight when you’re gone?
‘Til you go I need to hold you until the time
Your hands reach out and…

Touch me in the morning
(Mornings were blue and gold, and we could feel one another living)
Then just walk away
(We walked with a dream to hold and we could take what the world was
giving)
We don’t have tomorrow,
(There’s no tomorrow here, there’s only love and the time to chase it)
But we had yesterday
(But yesterday’s gone my love, there’s only now and it’s time to face
it)

(FADE OUT)

Touch me in the morning
(Wasn’t it me who said that nothin’ good’s gonna last forever?)
Then just walk away
(And wasn’t it me who said let’s just be glad for the time together?)
We don’t have tomorrow
(Wasn’t it yesterday we used to laugh at the wind behind us?)
But we had yesterday
(Yesterday’s gone my love…)

*

If you need me, call me.
No matter where you are, no matter how far.
Just call my name. I’ll be there in a hurry.
On that you can depend and never worry.
(You see, my love is alive It’s like a seed that only needs the
thought of you to grow. So if you feel the need for company,
please, my darling, let it be me. I may not be able to express
the depth of the love I feel for you, but a writer put it very
nicely when he was away from the one he loved.
He sat down and wrote these words:)

No wind, (No wind) no rain, (no rain)
Nor winter’s cold
Can stop me, babe (oh, babe) baby (baby)
If you’re my goal

No wind, no rain,
Can stop me, babe
If you wanna go

I know, I know you must follow the sun
Wherever it leads
But remember
If you should fall short of your desires
Remember life holds for you one guarantee
You’ll always have me

And if you should miss my love
One of these old days
If you should ever miss the arms
That used to hold you so close, or the lips
That used to touch you so tenderly
Just remember what I told you
The day I set you free

Ain’t no mountain high enough
Ain’t no valley low enough (Say it again)
Ain’t no river wild enough
To keep me from you

Ain’t no mountain high enough
Ain’t no valley low enough (Say it again)
Ain’t no river wild enough
To keep me from you

Ain’t no mountain high enough
Nothing can keep me
To keep me from you

Ain’t no mountain high enough
Ain’t no valley low enough (One more time)
Ain’t no river wild enough (Say it again)
To keep me from you

Ain’t no mountain high enough
Nothing can keep me
To keep me from you

*

So, that was my little montage, my homage to my most personal favorite hits that Miss Diana Ross made famous, lyrically of course.  Because there ain’t a disco hit alive that can touch Love Hangover, ok?

The love affair started when my parents programmed my brother and I with Motown – specifically Diana Ross and the Supremes but things got really heated back on July 21, 1983 when I had the experience of a lifetime, watching the divine Miss Ross run things at Central Park.  I get goose bumps everytime I think about it.  Fifteen minutes into the concert we were hit with a torrential rainstorm.  And what did the Diva do?  Turn it out, drenched just like the rest of us, all sexy and shit singing to her audience:  “The rain ain’t gonna hurt nobody!”  Honey, wanna talk about fierce?  To this day, nobody can out-fierce that serious Diva-move.  

All I wanna do is praise her, give her the props that she deserves.  It wasn’t always an easy road for her, but if you happen to be a student of Miss Ross, a fan, an admirer, you’ll understand in more ways than one what it means to “weather the storm,” and continue to rise up from the ashes if you will.  And I love her for that.  For her persistence, her mental, physical, spiritual upkeep, and her devil-may-care attitude.  Cuz a Diva needs that.  My recommendation to you:  Catch her in concert if you can.  She is truly a performer of a lifetime, of our lifetime.  There aren’t very many left.

3 Responses to “Monday Music Muse & Crush of the Week: The Boss-Miss Diana Ross”


  1. 1 Shespirit
    May 24, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    BRAVA!!
    Nicely written…. She is a true DIVA!

  2. May 30, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    Thanks and thanks again for this article.I,too,am and will always be a Fan of the Diva…name not needed,for there is only ONE!She has weathered her many storms and still rises from the ashes,ala her opening for her current Tour.That is her way of saying”It took me a lifetime to get here and I ain’t going nowhere!!!!”Nuff said.Love me some Diva!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. May 30, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    And thanks for coming thru this way, Billy and thanks for your wonderful comments. The Diva LIVES!!!


Leave a Reply

Follow The Passions of Lust Noir

Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


